In the Mirror-part 2

I was startled and my mouth went dry. I tried to speak, but my vocal chords decided to be stubborn and do nothing. I sat their like a deranged seal with my mouth hanging open until Mr. Chanon finally spoke. “So you’re really here. It took you long enough. I thought you would have already time traveled before, but I guess from the way you’re staring at me, you haven’t.” “Done what now?” “Time traveled of course. You’re a time traveler.” Mr. Chanon said this like it was nothing. “But how can I be?”, I asked really confused. “Let me ask you a question.” said Mr. Chanon, not even waiting for my consent. “What’s your favorite subject in school?” “History.” I answered quickly. “But that doesn’t mean I’m a time traveler, does it?” “If you don’t believe it, how are you here?” Mr. Chanon asked calmly. “I don’t know. It’s gotta be a dream.” I reasoned with myself. “Well, I’m having the same dream then.” Mr. Chanon said.

“Well if I am a time traveler like you say, what am I doing at this particular spot in history?” I asked. “You know the project I gave you today in school? I thought that assignment would get to to travel. You’re on the Mayflower. The same exact ship that Whiliam Bradford is on.” “WHAT? He’s here? I’m on the Mayflower? As in the ship the Pilgrims used to cross the ocean? The questions came like a tidal wave until Mr. Chanon held up his hand signaling me to stop talking. “Look down” he said. I looked and saw my clothes. I wore a black dress with white trimming and a huge collar. I realized I had been standing uncomfortably in the different clothes. I took a step back.

As I took in the massive ship, well the near bottom of it, Mr. Chanon explained that my parents were probably were time travelers too, but had never “tripped” back in time as they call it. I had no idea who they were but I was determined to find out. And soon.

Leave a comment